Barwon Heads co-coaches and winners of the inaugural Peter Burke Award, Mitch Herbison and Troy Mitchell. Photo: PETER MARSHALL

Inaugural AFL Barwon Community Awards held

October 10, 2019 BY

THE inaugural AFL Barwon Community Awards were held at The Pier in Geelong last week.

The awards have been set up to celebrate the volunteers that help elevate community sport.

The Peter Burke Award for the senior football coach of the year was won by Barwon Heads cocoaches Mitch Herbison and Troy Mitchell.

This season, Herbison and Mitchell guided Barwon Heads to their first premiership since 1993.

Female Football Coach of the Year was won by Drysdale’s Prudence Davies. She also had an excellent season as a player, polling in the top 10 for the Division 2 best and fairest. Torquay’s Cameron Healy was awarded Junior Football Coach of the Year.

Healy is also midfield coach for the senior side, which had a successful season, reaching the grand final where they lost to Herbison and Mitchell’s Barwon Heads.

Leopold’s Kirsty Heazlewood was awarded Junior Netball Coach of the Year. Not only did Heazlewood coach Leopold’s Under 15 side, but their A Grade seniors as well.

The Leon Schram Award for junior football administration was won by Torquay’s Naomi Madigan.

Will Ross and Amanda Robertson were awarded football and netball Umpire of the Year respectively.

To see the full list of awards, head to


Share This