Portalington Golf Club – Febuary 15, 2018

February 19, 2018 BY

THE 7th Annual Barwon Cleaning Supplies Pro-Am at Portarlington Golf Club on Tuesday February 6 was a resounding success with the Bellarine turning on superb weather conditions to welcome many of Australia’s best golfers.

Professionals Antonio Murcada, Matthew Perry, Luke Hickman and Brad Moules put on a great show, sharing the top of the order with a sensational score of a six under par 66. The course was presented in perfect condition with the greens rolling smoothly, which resulted in over half the field of 75 professionals shooting even par or better.

Our own Helen Powe led the field of all golfers with a score of 43 points, and won the Jason Barker perpetual trophy. Inge Oliver from Torquay won the ladies section with 41, the men’s section by Leigh Datson from Clifton Springs with 39 and Greg Vagg won the sponsors section with 38.

An overwhelming response from all participants and spectators will ensure that this event will continue to be one to mark on the calendar for 2019.

Wednesday February 7, Ladies’ stableford
Very warm conditions didn’t deter too many, with 64 ladies taking part. Best score of the day was Val Oldfield with 40 points, also winning C Grade from Fran Stone’s 37. Nancy Hendy won the A Grade voucher with 36 on a countback from Liz Brown, and Jacqui Murrihy led the B Graders with 39 from Joyce Vagg’s 38. The NTPs were won by Marg Howell and Nancy Hendy, and Jacky Rowe (0-25) and Marg Quick (26-45) collected the ProPins.

Thursday February 8, Men’s Par
A field of 134 men showed up in lieu of Tuesday, and Rob Stiglbauer topped all-comers with 6 up to also take out B Grade from an unlucky Ken Latta on a countback. The effervescent Ralph Carnovale prevailed in A Grade with +6, well clear of Doug Hill’s +3, John Oldfield was best in C Grade with +4 ahead of Rob Parry’s +2, and D Grader of the day was Jim McCann with +4 by a shot from Trevor Drew. The pinshots were scored by Ron Peacock, Peter Noble and John Powell, and the ProPin by David Spencer.

Saturday February 10, Men’s and Ladies’ 4BBB Stableford
Cooler than forecast for the 202 players, with the winning Men’s Pair being Dennis Wood and Bill Archer scoring 48 points, just edging out Ralph Carnovale and Josh Kent on a countback. Other prizewinners were Dennis and Matthew Kelly, and Clive Allinson and Mark Shone, both on 47. The NTPs were struck by Rob Stiglbauer, Dennis Wood and Dave Ash, with the ProPin going to Peter Steele. Top lady pairs were Jean Pardy and Lou Blomley with 45, followed by Joy Francis and Helen Powe on 43. NTPs to Jenny Pearson and Geraldine Collison, with Lou Blomley making it a profitable day by snaring the ProPin.

Coming events
Saturday February 17: Men’s and Ladies Stableford
Tuesday February 20: Men’s Par
Wednesday February 21: Ladies Stableford
Thursday February 22: Men’s and Ladies Stableford.