Portarlington Golf Club – April 26, 2018

April 30, 2018 BY

WOULD you like to become the huge celebrity that being chief writer of the PGC column brings!? I have decided that after five years of putting this column together every week, it’s time to step aside and allow someone else to put their stamp on the column. If you enjoy writing, have a sense of humour and an interest in what is going on at the golf club, here is your chance to experience the fulfilment of seeing your work in print, apart from keeping our members, and plenty of others up to date with club stuff! If interested, have a chat with Fiona Boswell, John Bowman or myself.

Tuesday April 17, Men’s Stableford
Great conditions for the 151 men out on the track, with David Lappin hitting his straps and storming home with 42 points to win Trophy of the Day and D Grade from Trung Truong’s 39. Sam Beeston topped A Grade with 41 from Marty Gowling’s 38, Darren Orr was best in B Grade with 41 ahead of consistent Cliff McCorkell’s 39, and top of C Grade was Gary Thompson with 38 by a point from evergreen Jim Fisher. The NTP vouchers were collected by Brian Hazell, Tony Unwin and Bob Thompson, James Harvey pocketed the ProPin, and Kevin Wilson cleaned out the eagles nest on the hardest hole on the course!

Wednesday April 18, Ladies’ Stableford
A field of 63 ladies “Teed off for Cancer”, and Angela Royal emerged at the top of the pile with 39 points, also winning A Grade from the other Angela, Foott who had 35. A 38 by Jenny Champion got her the B Grade voucher from Lynne Kirby’s 37, and Joyce Livermore recorded a 39 to win C Grade from Jacqui Vietri’s 33. The NTP’s went to Jenny Champion and Jeanette Johnson, and the ProPins to Pat Peacock (0-25) and Kath Howes (26-45).

Saturday April 21, Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
A huge turnout of 213 players was an indication of the calm, moderate conditions that prevailed. Top score of the day was by Lynne Kirby with 43 points, winning the Ladies event from Judy Said with 40. Lynne also scored an NTP, the other going to Jenny Pearson, and the ProPin went to Lou Blomley. In the Men’s event, Yani Lathouros topped the day with 42, taking out B Grade from a 40 by Hugh Orton. Sam Beeston is having a field day at the moment, backing up Tuesday’s win by heading A Grade with 41from James Flanagan’s 38, Rhys Millard headed the C Graders with 41 from Arthur Johnson’s 38, and best D Grader was Rhys Brown with 41 by a point from Chris Dodds. The pinshots were won by Mannie Golfis, Ron Howell and Mark Beasley, with our resident PO general, Rick Edmanson, collecting the ProPin.

Coming Events
Saturday April 28: Men’s and Ladies’ Stroke
Tuesday May 1: Men’s two-person Ambrose
Wednesday May 2: Anzac Day Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
Thursday May 3, Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford