Portarlington Golf Club – January 18, 2018

January 22, 2018 BY

IT WAS proposed and decisively passed at our AGM last October to do away with the traditional separate Men’s and Ladies’ golf committees to form one combined committee. This has now come to fruition, and the new committee has been announced. Our new Club Captain is Jan Cogger and the committee will comprise the following members: Vice-Captain John W Bowman, Jill Barker, Jenny Edmanson, Arthur McPhee, Jillian Peppard, Beth Peterson, Neil Ryan, and Peter Solohub. This is a significant moment in our club’s history, not only that we now have a combined Golf Committee, but also that Jan Cogger will be our first female Club Captain. The Board of Directors extends congratulations to these inaugural committee members and recognises that the formation of this committee heralds an exciting new future for our club.

Tuesday January 9, Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
The expected big numbers returned with good golfing conditions and 166 men in the mix. Bob Thomson had a day out with 43 points to win the day and B Grade from Brian King’s 41. Scott Hopgood did best in A Grade with 40, a point clear of Jim McGrath, Colin Davey’s 42 led C Grade by a point from Ron Peacock, and Rob Atkinson’s 42 headed D Grade from Keith Potter’s 39. The NTPs were taken out by Gordon Atkins, Ron McLaughlin and Jim Williams, with John Taylor claiming the ProPin.

Wednesday January 10, Ladies’ Stableford
A field of 65 ladies rolled up for the day’s play, and Heather Spry came out tops with 43 points, to also head C Grade by a point from Susan May. Best B Grader was Chris Cunningham with 39, ahead of Diane Roede with 35, and Judith Webber topped A Grade with 38 by a point from Jan Cogger. The NTPs were struck by Marilyn Mooney and Liz Brown, who also won the 0-25 ProPin, Heather Spry adding to her riches for the day with the 26-45 ProPin.

Saturday January 13, Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
A bumper field of 209 players took part in cooler conditions, and David Bourke recorded top score of the day with 43 points. He also headed the A Graders from Justin McGrath’s 38, Peter Kavanagh topped B Grade with 42 on a countback from Lee Lorenc, C Grade honours went to Col Bean with 39 on a countback from Mickey McNeill, and Patrick Kennedy’s 38 was the best D Grade score by a point from Barry Ruler. The NTPs were played by Graham Vohmann, Gary Hayward and David McCutcheon, and the ProPin by Tim Benham. Top lady of the day was visitor Judy Fitzgerald from Commonwealth GC with 38 on a countback from Lou Blomley. The NTPs went to Karen Thomas and Jacky Rowe, and the ProPin to Jean Pardy.

Congratulations to Neil Ryan on his spectacular Hole-in-One on the 2nd hole during Thursday’s competition.

Coming Events
Saturday January 20: Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford