Portarlington Golf Club – May 10, 2018

May 9, 2018 BY

THE success or otherwise of a club like ours depends largely on the volunteers willing to do the huge variety of tasks that are essential to its smooth running. One person who puts in more voluntary hours than probably anyone at PGC is David Bond, our Board member and Secretary for the past 11 years. “Bondy” was justly rewarded recently by being named “Club Official of the Year” at the recent Community Clubs Victoria Awards night. His unwavering passion for Portarlington Golf Club has been exemplary, and winning this award is due recognition of the outstanding qualities he continues to demonstrate.

Tuesday May 1, Men’s two-person Ambrose
This popular event attracted a good field of 152 men, with Max Edmanson and Sam Beeston enjoying an outstanding round of nett 60 to be well clear of John Ekberg and Mark Anderson with 63¼ in 2nd place. They just edged out Arthur Johnson and Ron Howell on 63¾ in 3rd place. The NTP’s were collected by Tony Unwin, Col Isbel and Steve Scott.

Wednesday May 2, Ladies’ Stroke – Medal Day
A big day for the 49 ladies in the hunt for the May medal, and another 9 in the optional stableford event. Great to see Chris Trezise rewarded with her first medal after many years at the club, scoring a nett 72 to also top the B Graders from Helen Davey’s 74. Pat Worsley’s 74 won her the C Grade voucher on a c/b from Susan May, and Jill Barker was is good form to top A Grade with 74 on a c/b from Jill Peppard. Jill also got the A Grade ProPin, Sue Watts the B Grade, and the pinshots went to Jeanette Johnson and Ann Watts. The day’s best putter was Geraldine Collison with 28. Winner of the stableford event was Marg Quick with 35 points.

Saturday May 5, Men’s and Ladies Stroke – Mens Monthly Medal
Windy conditions didn’t deter 164 men and 29 ladies, with David Lappin continuing some very good recent form to win the Medal and D Grade with a nett 69 from Chris Dodds, who managed 72. C Grade was won by Tom Scarff with 70 on a c/b from Chris Bellamy, Chris McCulloch topped the B Graders with 71 by a point from Mike Kerry, and best A Grader was Sean Rogers with 71followed by Craig Finnemore’s 72. The NTP’s went to Nick Unsworth, Barry Benson and Joel Launer, with the ProPin cash in Elijah Wall’s pocket. The Ladies event was won by Bec Waldron with nett 73, Judy Said claiming 2nd place with 75 and Marg Mascoll with 76 in 3rd place. The NTP’s were struck by Jacqui Vietri and Marg Mascoll, with Emma Zahl collecting the ProPin and Joyce Livermore the putting award with 29 putts.

Coming Events
Saturday May 12: Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
Tuesday May 15: Men’s Stableford – guest day
Wednesday May 16: Ladies’ Stroke Foursomes
Thursday May 17: Mens and Ladies Stableford