Portarlington Golf Club – September 21, 2017

October 25, 2017 BY

PORTARLINGTON hosted the SWGA Ladies’ Foursomes Championship on Monday September 11. A field of 90 participants from all over the district took part in this event. Congratulations to our very own Angela Foott and Jenny Edmanson for winning both the Best Gross Overall with 74, as well as the Best Nett Overall with 67.5, the best scores in the field by a long way. We also congratulate Jenny (Captain) and Angela on being selected in the district representative team to participate in the Country Teams Competition, to be held in Melbourne in early October. Jill Barker will be assisting with caddying duties for the team. Best wishes for a successful campaign ladies.

Tuesday September 12, Men’s 4BBB Par

Another day of harsh conditions attracted only 71 men for this team’s event, and it was won with a score of 7 up by Ian Flanders and Lindsay Powell. They were followed, also on +7, by Brian King and Simon Grundell, with Neil Ryan and Brad di Blasio next on +6, with six pairs following, all on +5. The pinshots were collected by Bill Archer, Simon Grundell and Wayne Hood, and the ProPin by (not again!!) Matt Salter.

Wednesday September 13: Ladies 4BBB Stableford

It was “Bring a Guest” day, resulting in a field of 74 ladies including 18 guests, a very pleasing response. Well done to Ann Watts and her guest from Clifton Springs, Marcia Williams who scored 43 points to win the day. Next were our own Marg Mascoll and Jacqui Murrihy with 41, then Marian Keskinen and guest from Barwon Heads, Sally Ludlow with 40. Other prizewinners were Marilyn Mooney and Dorothy Emerson for the NTP’s, and Jan Cogger (0-25) and Marcia Williams (26-45) for the ProPins. Guest NTP’s were won by Jay Magee (Curlewis) and Cathy Parkin (13th Beach).

Saturday September 16, Mens Stroke, LadiesStableford

First round of the 2017 Club Championships for men created some extra motivation, with 152 men taking part. Ian Flanders won the Trophy of the Day with a nett 68, also topping D Grade from Dereck Wright’s 72. The A Grade winner was Chris Otway with 71 on a c/b from Andrew Wootton, best B Grader was James Colby with 69 followed by Perry Gourley with 72, and C Grade honours went Rob John with 70 from a 73 by Rodney Allen. The NTP’s were scored by Cameron Place, Darren Heaton and Martin Shembrey, and the ProPin by Gary Hayward. The Ladies Stableford was won comfortably by Marg Mascoll with 38 points, followed by Maureen Hogan on 33. Sue Gregory got the only NTP, and Bec Waldron the ProPin.

Coming events

Saturday September 23: 2nd round of Mens
Club Championships and October Medal, Ladies
Tuesday September 26: Mens Stableford
Wednesday September 27: Ladies Stroke, 2nd
round of Club Championships, October Medal
Thursday September 28: Mens and Ladies

Thank you for supporting local journalism!