Portarlington Golf Club – October 19, 2017

November 16, 2017 BY

WE HAVE now decided our new 2017 Club Champions after some interesting and competitive rounds played this week.

Congratulations to our new Men’s Club Champion, Matthew Salter, who played an outstanding final round of 74 to overhaul clubhouse leader Justin McGrath, whose 81 was enough to get him over the line for 2nd, but five shots behind Salter. Previous winner Joshua Kent was third, one shot behind McGrath. In the Ladies Open, Emma Zahl made it back-to-back victories after a scintillating final round of 76, which included an incredible six birdies and only 24 putts, to overtake Jenny Edmanson, who finished two shots behind Emma, and 2nd round leader Rebecca Waldron back another 5.

Tuesday October 10, Men’s Stableford
A magnificent morning brought out 152 men to the course, and it was Joshua Williams turn to shine with a Trophy of the Day score of 42 points, also topping B Grade from Neil Ryan’s 39. A 38 by Dennis Wood won A Grade by a point from Lindsay Powell, Robert Barker topped C Grade with 37 from Ray Linegar’s 37, and John Crisp was best of the D Graders with 39 by a point from Andrew Barti.The NTPs were collected by Marty Gowling, Ray Brownhill and Lindsay Powell, and the ProPin by Bernie Duffy.

Wednesday October 11: Final Round of Ladies Club Championships
In the graded gross events, Catherine Strachan won B Grade, Chris Trezise C Grade and Val Oldfield D Grade. In the three-round nett events, the winners were Marilyn Mooney (A), Sonia Dall (B), Sandra Kearton (C) and Christine Watson (D). The daily NTPs were scored by Bec Waldron and Joy Francis, and the ProPins by Jenny Edmanson (0-25) and Shauna Gray (26-45).

Saturday October 12: Final Round of Men’s Club Championships, Ladies Stableford
In the graded Men’s gross events, respective winners were John Rowe (B), Peter Kavanagh (C), Ian Flanders (D), Ralph Carnovale (Vets), Jack Martin (Junior) while the Nett events went to Bob Perry (A), Don English (B), Mark Beasley (C), Ian Flanders (D and Vets) and Jack Martin (Junior). In the regular Saturday stroke event, overall winner was Jeff Smillie with nett 66, also topping C Grade from Stephen Steele with 70. A Grader of the day was Bob Gibbs with 70 by a shot from Linton Newitt, Peter Kavanagh was best B Grader with 70 from Bob Perry’s 71, and Patrick Kennedy headed D Grade with 70 from Ron McLaughlin’s 73. The Ladies event was won by Joyce Livermore with 36 points from Mary Menzel and Judy Fox both with 34, the pinshots by Jacky Rowe and Angela Kiely, and the ProPin by Jan Cogger.

Coming events
Saturday October 21: Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
Tuesday October 24: Men’s Stableford
Wednesday October 25: Ladies’ Stableford (SGS 9.30am), Ladies AGM at 2pm
Thursday October 26: Men’s and Ladies Stableford