The decade’s best at the Hawks’ nest

July 19, 2021 BY

Some of Drysdale's team of the past decade. Photo: SUPPLIED

IT WAS all smiles and good times on Saturday night for the Drysdale Hawks, after the club hosted its Team of the Decade (2010-2019) dinner at Buckley’s Entertainment Centre.

The event, which has been a tradition at the football club for more than 30 years, provided an awesome atmosphere, according to club president David Walder.

“It was an absolutely fantastic night for the club and a great way to appreciate all the players that did special things from the last decade,” he said.

“These players helped us to a premiership in 2010 and also made a grand final in 2013.”

According to deputy vice-president Ben Reyment, the club had to cancel several functions over the past 16 months due to COVID-19, so the chance to get the players and supporters together was always going to provide for a good time.

“It is always great to catch up with the group, especially past players who might be at other clubs or now retired that we don’t always see at the Hawks’ Nest,” Reyment said.

“The chance to socialise again is the main driver for this event, but to see some past club legends interacting with current players as well was excellent.”

Former Drysdale player and committee member Chris “Puffy” Taylor put together a group of club people to select from the list of players from 2010-2019.

Selection criteria such as games played, honours and awards, impact on the club, culture and positions played were all part of the discussion before the 23-man team was announced.

Coached by Wade Chapman, the Hawks’ 2010-2019 team was:
Backs: Jack Jenkins, Steve Benstead, Josh Hopgood, Josh Inglis, Brent Taylor, Brett Dowie
Midfielders: Adrian Robinson, Daniel Jull (captain) and Adam Nolan
Forwards: Reece Holwell, Mat Hebbard, Julian Hildebrand, Mitch Scott, Tom Dewey, Josh Rushton
Rucks: Matthew Baden, Mitch McGuire, Ben Carmichael
Interchange: Luke Matthews, Shaun Wells, Andrew White, Kyle Davis.

Share This