Torquay Golf Club – June 21, 2018

June 20, 2018 BY

SATURDAY June 9: The Queen’s Birthday long weekend and the weather could not have been better for our golfers. The course was filled with happy members and visitors alike all eager to get out on our beautiful course and enjoy the sun that was shining down on Torquay.

Our members posted some good scores like today’s A Grade winner Wes Bumpstead. He scored 38 points. B Grade winner John McKay shot 42 points and Barry Leith was our C Grade winner with 38 points. Lyndsey Dunstan won the ladies scoring 32 points. Graeme Sharp took out the Resort competition with 41 points and our guest winner Jason Sikorski scored 38 points. NTPs Claire Dowley, Max Simpson, Clive Smith, Tony Cosgrave, Jason Moran and Michael McKinnon the jackpot.

Sunday June 10: Aaron Sarah took out A Grade with 41 points. B Grade winner Ray Morgan had the score of the day with 43 points. Paula Mitchell won the ladies scoring 40 points and our guest winner Robert Hondromatidis had 43 points. NTPs Trevor Chappell, Sandra Lambert, Damien Harrington and Richard Drury hit the jackpot.

Monday June 11: David Norman shot 41 points to win for the men and ladies’ winner Lesly Thornton had 33 points. Guest winners were for the men Phillip Conard 38 points and for the ladies Robyn Hunt 35 points. NTPs Ado Cations, Lesley Thornton, Michael Clancy and Anthony Rickard hit the jackpot.

Tuesday June 12: Mandy Buckley shot 35 points to win A Grade. Jill Chick also had 35 points to take out B Grade and C Grade went to Sylvia Peck 37 points. Gwen Sturrock was the Resort winner with 30 points. Secret Super 6 winners Red tees Anne Staig 14 points and Green tees Judy Sceney 9 points. 9-hole competition winner June Macrae had 17 points. NTPs Sue Booth, Janice Pekin, Yvonne Mazylis, Wendy Poyner, Mandy Buckley and Lesley Grebe took the jackpot win.

Wednesday June 13 was a Texas Scramble for the men and while most did manage to read the instructions and follow them! Some however wanted to play their own rules and of course with the roving eye of our course marshal out there they were quickly questioned as to what game they were playing. With some sheepish grins on their faces the story unfolded, “Ahhh,” was the cry. “We thought we had read the instructions properly.” But alas they had not, team disqualified. Lessons to be learnt always read the game rules properly and if in doubt ask the golf shop team, they are always right! The winning team score of 79 points was Rob Schofield and Daryl Moss. Runners up Gary Kerr and John Anderson scored 78 points. Third place went to Greg Brinsmead and Scott Brown 77 points. Resort winners Gay Rogers and Ross Forbes 80 points. NTPs Rob Templeton, Rob Schofield, Gary Gemmola, Peter Burford, Ron Hedley and Richard Mierzejewski the jackpot.

Golf Shop News: currently we have some men’s polos on special for only $29 get in quick while stocks last.