Metcalf to lead major LGA group

June 23, 2022 BY

Elected: City of Greater Bendigo mayor Cr Andrea Metcalf was chosen by her Regional Cities Victoria peers to chair the group. Photo: SUPPLIED

CITY of Greater Bendigo mayor Cr Andrea Metcalf has been elected chair of a group representing ten of the largest municipalities in Victoria.

Regional Cities Victoria comprises mayors and chief executive officers from Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Horsham, Latrobe, Mildura, Shepparton, Wangaratta, Warrnambool and Wodonga.

Cr Metcalf was elected by her peers last Friday and said she is excited to lead the group through an important time.

“It is a critical year for Regional Cities Victoria as we welcome a new Federal Government and another Federal budget, as well as prepare for a State election later this year,” she said.

“Advocacy will continue to be a key priority for us.

“We also have new opportunities to consider, such as the Victoria 2026 Commonwealth Games. While the host cities have been selected, our focus will be on ensuring the many benefits of hosting the Games are shared as widely as possible across regional Victoria.

“I’m passionate about our regional cities being successful and it is an honour to be elected to lead such a hard-working group who share in this aspiration in wanting the best for their communities.”

Regional Cities Victoria represents more than 800,000 Victorians, and Cr Metcalf said there are many challenges that need to be addressed, including “rising housing prices and tight rental markets, skills shortages, support for young people and reducing government red tape.”

“When our regional cities are strong, so too are the many smaller communities that surround us, and I will be working hard with my peers to ensure regional Victoria continues to grow and prosper,” she said.