Tickell family marks awards first

January 13, 2022 BY

On the run: 15-year-old Logan Tickell received the Bendigo Sports Star of the Year scholarship for December 2021. Photo: A.J. TAYLOR IMAGES

THE Tickell family has marked a first in the history of the Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund run as part of Bendigo’s Sports Star of the Year award.

Logan Tickell, 15, is the latest scholarship recipient in Sports Star for 2020 and ’21 and in the running for the Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund following outstanding performances on the athletics track in Bendigo and Box Hill.

Logan’s father, Lucas was a brilliant athlete and earned the Trust Fund award in 1995-96.

The Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund was introduced to Sports Star of the Year in 1982-83 and won by Echuca athlete Malcolm Norwood.

In his latest hit-out, Logan Tickell clocked fastest time of 4:15.85 as he raced off the back mark of 2.45 minutes in last Saturday night’s Richard Kitt Memorial 1500 meters at the Bendigo Regional Athletics Complex on Retreat Road, Flora Hill.

Logan was fifth in the Parker Electrical-backed classic.

Among the highs of Logan Tickell’s racing in November were a time of 8:48.14 to break the Victorian under-15s 3000m record in the opening round of the Victorian Milers running season on the Box Hill track.

He became the first Bendigo athlete in more than a decade to hold a Victorian track record.

The previous best time for under-15s at the 3000-metere distance was 8:49.77 set by Wendouree’s Harry Sharp in Adelaide in November, 2017.

Logan Tickell will be one to watch when he represents South Bendigo Athletics Club at the Victoria Country championships on January 28 to 30 in Bendigo.

This year he moves into year 10 at Bendigo South East Secondary College where he is part of the athlete development program and under the guidance of dual national cross-country champion Andy Buchanan who is the athletics coach.

Scholarship recipients for 2021 and ’22 were Sports Star of the Year are Layla Day for swimming, Octavio Di Donato for AFL, Lucy Membrey for gymnastics, Eliza Oxley for rowing, Ruby Turner for netball and Abbey Hromenko, Jayden Padgham, Archie Reid, Logan Tickell all for athletics.

Bendigo’s Sports Star of the Year presentation will be held in late February at the All Seasons.