Unbeaten teams to clash at Toolleen

May 12, 2022 BY

Run on: Mount Pleasant are currently undefeated for the season, but that may change as they welcome LBU to town this weekend. Photo: PETER WEAVING

THE unbeaten Mount Pleasant and Lockington Bamawm United meet at Toolleen in Saturday’s sixth round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football League.

Although Mounts has home ground advantage, LBU will not be fazed by the challenge as it chases a 15th consecutive victory.

The Brodie Collins-coached Cats won all 12 matches on the way to being declared premiers in the 2021 season cut short by COVID.

Expect defences for both teams to be tested.

Mounts have Ben Weightman, Adam Baird and Riley McNamara as key targets in attack and Baird kicked six goals in the win at Huntly, while Weightman has a season tally of 26.

The Cats’ attack is led by Ben Fulford, ruckman/forward Tyler Phillips, Anthony McMahon and Rhys Woodland.

Midfield and onball duels will be a highlight and whichever team gains an edge there is likely to take the points in a fierce contest.

The Blues have Billy Mahony, Zac Featherby and Pat O’Brien capable of winning plenty of the ball at stoppages.

LBU’s best in its most recent hit-out were Marcus Angove, Joss Howlett, Charlie Hinks and Mitchell Laursen.

Meanwhile, Golden City Cup is up for grabs as North Bendigo welcome Huntly to the Bulldogs’ kennel at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The Rob Bennett-coached Bulldogs had plenty contributors in a 79-point win at Leitchville.

It’s been a tough run for the Stacy Fiske and the Hawks who have played LBU and Mount Pleasant in consecutive weeks and now travel to a ground where the Dogs are rarely beaten.

Elmore and Heathcote are set to clash at Elmore.

The Bloods worked hard to be within 17 points of White Hills in the Demons’ den last round.

Darcy Laffy kicked eight goals for Elmore and will be a major danger to the Saints, along with Dylan Gordon, Rhys and Zack Holmberg, and Dylan Oaff.

Heathcote will aim to bounce back from a 33-point loss on home turf at Barrack Reserve to Colbinabbin.

Players to watch for the Saints include Braden Padmore, Bradyen Klemke, Connor Hamilton and Codie Price.

Lastly, Colbinabbin takes on Leitchville Gunbower on the Grasshoppers’ ground at M. J. Morgan Reserve at Colbinabbin.

The Grasshoppers will look to James and Jed Brain, Laine Fitzgerald, Matt Riordan and Clint Shields to continue their hot form.

Key players for the Bombers include ruckman Jobee Warde, Nathan McLellan, Billy Hawken, Ayden Walton and Thomas Guerra.

White Hills has the bye.