Geelong residents recognised in Australia Day honours

January 28, 2021 BY

Lisa Kingman McGlinchy, of Drumcondra, was honoured for her service to business and community engagement initiatives.

FIVE members of the Geelong community are among those awarded Medals of the Order of Australia (OAMs) in this year’s Australia Day Honours list.

Drumcondra’s Lisa Kingman McGlinchey was honoured for her service to business and community engagement initiatives.

She has been director of collaboration and impact at Tanarra Philanthropic Advisors since 2018, a founding member of the Victoiran advisory group for Housing All Australians, and managing director of Social Good (Kingman Consulting), since 1995.

Ms McGlinchy founded TimeHelp in 2004, and became co-founder of EdConnect when TimeHelp merged with that organisation in 2014.

She is a former independent member of the BHP Billiton Community Trust,and a judge of the BHP Health, Safety, Environment and Community Awards, as well as a member of various community reference groups including the Optus Community Panel, Viva Energy’s Indigenous Participation Panel and Shell Australia’s Community.

The late Joan Scott of Grovedale was honoured for service to the community, and to youth.

Ms Scott was a member of the Royal Victorian Association of Honorary Justices since 1989, including two years as chair of the Geelong and Districts Branch and six years as a bail justice.

Her youth and court-related service included time as a former volunteer with the Youth Referral and Independent Persons Program, three years as member and secretary of the board of management for Crime Victim Services in the Barwon Region, and being a member of the Barwon Police and Community Consultative Committee between 1991 and 2002.

Ms Scott was also a former co-ordinator at the Noah’s Ark Family Resource and Toy Library and its treasurer for about 17 years.

East Geelong resident Warren Hewitt was recognised for service to community health through welfare support groups.

Mr Hewitt co-founded the Donor Conception Support Group of Australia in 1993 and has been a volunteer with the organisation since then, and has volunteered withCare Leavers Australia Network since 2000.

Geelong and Colac resident Norman Houghton was recognised for his decades of service to community history.

He was the foundation director at the Geelong Heritage Centre between 1979-2004, a former chief archivist at the Geelong Historical Records Centre, and was made a life member at the centre in 2005.

He was also made a life member in 2017 at The Geelong Club, where he remains as its chief historian, and authored a book, A Gentle Place: Jubilee History of the Geelong Club 1959 to 2009.

Mr Houghton has been a member of the Light Railway Research Society of Australia (LRRSA) since 1973, and has contributed to the society’s magazine since then (and was its editor between 1992 and 1997).

Made an honorary life member of LRRSA in 1986, Mr Houghton has published three books: Rail Centre Colac: Rail Stations in the Colac Shire 1877-2014, The Onion Line: A History of the Colac to Alvie Railway 1923-1954, and Closed 50 Years Ago: The Colac to Beech Forest Railway.

He is also a founding member of the Forest Historical Society, Australian Forest History, and Otways Historical Society.

David Morgan, of Newtown, was honoured for service to the wool industry.

He was a former wool technical manager at Dalgety Wool Marketing Company. and a former senior wool valuer and chief wool auctioneer at Australian Estates.

Share This