Shortlist announced for Geelong contemporary art prize

April 29, 2021 BY

Detail of Norm Stanley's "In a Dream", shortlisted for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize.

GEELONG Gallery has announced 28 works by leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize.

The $30,000 acquisitive award and biennial exhibition showcases the best of contemporary Australian painting practice.

Geelong artists Guy Stuart and Norm Stanley are on the shortlist, as are Brett Colquhoun, Jason Cordero, Greg Creek, Jonathan Crowther, Carolyn Eskdale, Diena Georgetti, Julia Gorman, Peter Graham, Helga Groves, Pei Pei He, Linda Judge, Mark McCarthy, Laith McGregor, Jennifer Mills, Jan Murray, Jan Nelson, Rose Nolan, Stieg Persson, Rosslynd Piggott, Bundit Puangthong, Jo Reitze, Andrew Taylor, Nat Ward, Jenny Watson, Louise Weaver and Peter Westwood.

Selected from more than 600 entries from around the country, the 28 shortlisted works for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize reflect the sophistication and rich diversity of contemporary Australian painting.

The shortlist represents several artists new to the selection panel alongside some of the country’s most acclaimed practitioners, whose work continues to evolve in its relevance to art, culture and life today.

The selection panel for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize includes eminent art historians and curators, Jenepher Duncan and Grazia Gunn and Geelong Gallery director and chief executive officer, Jason Smith.

The 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize continues a long tradition of prize exhibitions staged by the Geelong Gallery.

From the late-1930s, the gallery has awarded acquisitive prizes variously for paintings, watercolours and prints, sponsored by a variety of individuals and corporate supporters.

In the mid-1990s, the Geelong Art Gallery Foundation established this painting prize with the aim of showcasing the work of contemporary Australian practitioners and enriching the gallery’s collection of contemporary Australian art through the acquisition of a winning work.

Winning artists over the past 17 years include Andrew Browne (2018), Kate Beynon (2016), Rob McHaffie (2014), Paul Ryan (2012), Tim McMonagle (2010), Nadine Christensen (2008), Sam Leach (2006) and Juan Ford (2004).

The winner of the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize will be announced at a special event at Geelong Gallery on May 28. Head to

Share This