Millicent wins Tri Challenge

October 12, 2022 BY

On the October Long weekend, visitors from Blackwood and Loxton Golf Clubs ventured to the Millicent Golf Club for the Tri Challenge Event. The event is conducted over three stages, Blackwood in March, Loxton in June and Millicent in October. Visitors from both clubs joined the locals on Saturday for a Stableford Competition. It was the local players who dominated the competition.

Sunday was the main event with 96 players participating, the weather was perfect, the course in magnificent condition and the greens were running fast.

Once again the home course advantage prevailed and Millicent’s team of 10 players scored 362 points, to Blackwood 318 and Loxton 306.

The Millicent team consisted of Brian Bowman 41 points, Debbie Tincknell 40, Ian Greenwood 38, Lana Barlow 37, Kathy Webber 35, Jamie Muhovics 35, Phil Hunter 34, Andrew Todd 34, Andy Varcoe 34, Sharne Peacock 34.

Prizes were awarded to the best score of the day for both men and women from each club – These prizes were won by Brian Bowman 41 and Debbie Tincknell 40 (Millicent), Marg Rawlinson 36 and Michael Cogman 31 (Blackwood) and Daryl Tyler 34 and Joy Bullock 33 (Loxton).

After the three stages of the event – Millicent was declared the winner by seven points with a total of 1036 points, second place was Blackwood with 1029 points and in third place Loxton with 945 points.

Prizes were also awarded to players who had the best score after playing all three rounds – these were won by Lyn Wright (Blackwood) 106 points and Ian Greenwood (Millicent) 104 points.

The visitors complimented the club on the superb hospitality and tasty country fare.

Meals were provided on both Saturday and Sunday evening, served by the local Members and partners of members who treated the visitors to locally caught fish on Saturday and Mayura Wagyu beef on Sunday.

The 2023 Tri Challenge will commence again in March with a visit to Blackwood Golf Club.


A Grade – Anthony Driessen 39 points, Andy Varcoe 37 points, Ian Greenwood 37 points.

B Grade – Ben Young 37 points, Steve Duldig 37, Jed Telfer 36.

C Grade – David Seymour 34, Michael Cogman (Blackwood) 33, Ron Hateley 33.

Women – Sue Johns (Blackwood) 32, Valerie Lough (Blackwood) 30

MILLICENT’S WINNING TEAM: (Above top) Phil Hunter, Brian Bowman, Ian Greenwood, Kathy Webber, Debbie Tincknell & Lana Barlow. Absent: Andrew Todd, Andy Varcoe & Sharne Peacock.

BEST SCORES OF THE DAY: (Above bottom) Men’s best score of the day Brian Bowman & women’s best score of the day Debbie Tincknell