Federal boundaries closer to being finalised

April 15, 2021 BY

Changes to federal electorates are moving closer to being finalised with the submission period set to come to an end this week.

THE redistribution of Victorian electorates is closer to being finalised with the objection period coming to an end tomorrow (April 16).

Electoral commissioner Tom Rogers said the Victorian redistribution was required to enable an increase from 38 to 39 electoral divisions.

“Under the proposal, the boundaries of all but nine of Victoria’s existing electoral divisions would change, the additional division of Hawke would be created, and one electoral division would be renamed,” Mr Rogers said.

The electorates of Corio and Corangamite have become a focal point during the regional redistribution process with both areas being home to more voters than entitled to with further growth predicted.

A submission lodged by the Australian Green’s Party said any realignment to regional Victoria must begin with “the problem of Corangamite” which needs to lose at least 15,000 electors.

In the Liberal parties’ submissions, they confirmed their support for the “broad consensus” to leave the Division of Corio unchanged.

“It is important that where possible boundaries are maintained while this may limit the options for transferring electors from the Division of Corangamite that needs a reduction in its size, there are other options available,” it reads.

“Changing the boundaries of the Division of Corio would inevitably lead to the undesirable fragmentation of communities in the City of Geelong, on the Bellarine Peninsula.”

Two options have been canvassed in the redistribution process with the first requiring the least amount of change to the electorate of Corangamite by removing the local government areas of Colac-Otway Shire and Golden Plains Shire to the neighbouring electorate of Wannon.

The second proposal being considered would split the Surf Coast Shire local government area with Anglesea, Aireys Inlet and Winchelsea to move to Wannon.

Keeping existing rural and regional local government areas together has also been identified as a priority for the Australian Labor Party who recommend the Golden Plains Shire be moved to Ballarat, while Wannon picks up the balance of the Colac-Otway Shire and Winchelsea.

“Our suggestions maintain the northern Greater Geelong City council boundary, which is also the northern boundary of Corio as the natural starting point in the south separating Melbourne from regional Victoria,” they said.

“Two suggestions have also proposed that parts of the Division of Corio, which shares the same northern boundary as that of Greater Geelong Council, should be sent north into Lalor.

“That would split Geelong three ways, instead of two and also ignore the clear divide between Geelong as a regional identity and outer Melbourne.”

Further changes have suggested renaming Corangamite to Tucker in honour of Yorta Yorta woman Margaret (Lilardia) Elizabeth Tucker for her significant work to create a more equal and understanding society for Aboriginal people.

Written objections to the AEC’s proposal must be lodged by 6pm on April 16.


Thank you for supporting local journalism!