Divisions confirmed for senior women’s footy

May 20, 2021 BY

Molly Powell (Anglesea), Cindy Dawson (Torquay), Surf Coast Shire mayor Libby Stapleton and Pheobe Lingham (Anglesea) with the Surf Coast IDAHOBIT Cup. Photo: AFL BARWON

AFL BARWON has locked in the divisions for 2021 Epworth Senior Female football across the Geelong region, following the completion of grading matches earlier this month.

For the first time in the competition’s short history, there are three senior divisions comprising a record 20 teams.

Division 1 teams:

  • Newtown & Chilwell 1
  • Geelong West Giants 1
  • Barwon Heads 1
  • Grovedale
  • Geelong Amateur 1
  • St Mary’s 1

Division 2 teams:

  • Newtown & Chilwell 2
  • Geelong West Giants 2
  • North Geelong
  • St Mary’s 2
  • Drysdale
  • Lara

Division 3 teams:

  • Anglesea
  • Torquay
  • Barwon Heads 2
  • St Joseph’s
  • Geelong Amateur 2
  • South Barwon
  • St Albans
  • Colac Imperials

Women’s footballers will also celebrate IDAHOBIT (the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia, Intersexism and Transphobia) – observed globally on Monday this week – with a special night match tomorrow (Friday, May 21) supported by the Surf Coast Shire council.

With Anglesea’s women’s team making their debut into the Senior Female competition, the council wanted to work with both Surf Coast teams (Anglesea and Torquay) to start a new event and link the council’s community celebration to a sport that is pioneering inclusiveness on all levels.

The council has sourced a perpetual Surf Coast IDAHOBIT Cup for the winner to retain for the year, with the fixture hopefully becoming an ongoing annual event between the teams to help celebrate IDAHOBIT Day and what this means to the players, teams and the community.

The Division 3 game between Anglesea and Torquay will be played at Ellimatta Reserve, Anglesea tomorrow from 7pm.

For full fixtures for all three divisions, head to AFL Barwon’s website.

Thank you for supporting local journalism!