Rock2Ramp registers record numbers

January 2, 2020 BY

Winners of the 1.2km race Jordan Merrilees and Sophie Thomas.

ANGLESEA Surf Life Saving Club (SLSC) held its annual Rock2Ranp competition last week, with more than 1,000 competitors taking to the water.

The competition celebrated its 25th year with a record number of female participants.

This was helped by the inclusion of a 600m swim in addition to the usual 1.2km and 2.5km swims. Nearly 100 participated in this new category.

Anglesea SLSC youth director Sam Hume said the variety of competitors made the event particularly special.

“The Rock2Ramp is an iconic Victorian Swim Event. Anglesea caters for swimmers as young as seven through to veterans. There is something for everyone. We had people coming back for their 20th swim (in the Rock2Ramp competition) – just an incredible effort.

“The great thing about the Rock2Ramp is that I can have a go at ocean swimming and so can Mum and Dad. I love it because it’s the whole community that’s doing it.”

The event also required even more input from volunteers than usual due to the clubhouse being rebuilt.

The first to the finish line in the 2.5km category was Matt Gilling, who also won the male category in 2016 and 2017. Gilling completed the race in 30 minutes and 50 seconds. His nearest competitor was Robbe Dilissen, who finished in the top three for the fourth consecutive year.

Rebecca Henderson narrowly defeated Madeleine Wood to win the female category with a time of 35 minutes and 32 seconds.

Jorden Merrilees won the male category in the 1.2km race and was the first of 672 swimmers to cross the finish.

Meerilees, who finished third in the 2.5km race, completed the swim in 15 minutes and 53 seconds. Gilling had another exceptional swim to finish just eight seconds behind him.

Sophie Thomas won the female category, finishing in 17 minutes and 30 seconds.

Naantali Marshall came second, having won the event in 2016 and 2018.

The 600m was won by Floyd Cartner in a time of nine minutes and 18 seconds, and Zoe McKenna in a time of 11 minutes.