Ken Heres Eureka Club Championships Day

November 14, 2018 BY

Pace setter: Craig Lee leads the field to the finish line in the 2018 Club Championship Race. Photo: SUPPLIED

THIRTY-SIX riders contested the Eureka Cycling Road Race Championships on Sunday 11th November. Near perfect racing conditions made for entertaining racing.

The feature event of the day was the Club Championship race. Fourteen riders contested the sprint finish and Craig Lee was victorious. Lee will wear the Blue and white phoenix dossard for the next year.

Rob Phillips claimed the win in the Super Vets Championship. Peter Gunston won the Division 2 Championship race and Phil McLennan claimed gold in the Division 3 Championship.

Results – Club Championship race, 69km – 1st – Craig Lee, 2nd – Tim Canny, 3rd – Jason Hendry, 4th – Jason Birch, 5th – Dean Wells

Super Vets, 63km – 1st – Rob Phillips, 2nd – Peter Canny, 3rd – Bob Morley

Division 2, 63km – 1st – Peter Gunston, 2nd – Roger McMillan, 3rd – Steve Linane

Division 3, 63km – 1st – Phil McLennan, 2nd – Rob Parker, 3rd – Jakkii Dawson

Eureka Cycling’s 70km handicap – Weatherboard circuit

Twenty-one Eureka members fine-tuned for the upcoming Club and State Championships with a 70km handicap on Sunday, 4 November.

Seven laps of the Weatherboard circuit proved a tough assignment for all riders, however Jude Jonasson was both smart and strong in riding a tactical race to win the day.

Results – 1st – Jude Jonasson (30 min), 2nd – Mark O’Callaghan (25 min), 3rd – Roger McMillan (25 min), 4th – Jakkii Dawson (30 min), 5th – Bob Morley (15 min)

Fastest time – Stuart Brien (Scratch) in 1h 55m 30s, ave. 37.1kph

Thank you for supporting local journalism!