T20 semi-finals locked in

November 11, 2021 BY

Close: Adam Zampa dives for a catch during the Aussie’s win over the West Indies that put them through to the semi-final round of the T20 World Cup. Photo: DAVID GRAY/ AAP IMAGE

PAKISTAN, England, Australia and New Zealand have all booked their spots in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup.

The Kiwis secured second spot in Group 2 after beating Afghanistan by eight wickets on Sunday, setting up a semi-final showdown against Group 1 winners England at Abu Dhabi on 11 November.

New Zealand’s win means pre-tournament favourites India cannot make the semi-finals ahead of their final group game against Namibia.

Pakistan defeated Scotland by 72 runs overnight to lock in a semi-final clash against Australia at Dubai on 12 November.

The 2009 champions finished top of Group 2 with five wins from as many games, while Australia placed second in Group 1 after beating the West Indies by eight wickets in their final group fixture.

See the semi-final fixtures are – semi-final 1: England v New Zealand at Abu Dhabi, 11 November at 1am, semi-final 2: Pakistan v Australia at Dubai, 12 November at 1am AEDT.



Thank you for supporting local journalism!