Sprint finish: Tim Canny grabbed line honours for round 3 of Eureka Cycling Club’s WARS racing. Photos: FILE

Windmill site of WARS battle

June 24, 2021 BY

BRILLIANT sunshine bathed the Windmill circuit east of Learmonth on Sunday 20th June for the third round of Eureka Cycling Club’s Winter Aggregate Race Series.

Dayne Pearce was edged out in a sprint finish.

A light southerly breeze kept the air chilled and ensured the roads stayed damp for 52.5 kilometres of graded division racing.

Roger McMillan returned to the winner’s circle in Division 4 with a well-timed sprint.

Division 1 saw Tim Canny and Dayne Pearce engaged in an epic straight line drag race to the chequered flag.

Tony Mirabella packed enough punch to land the Division 2 victory at his 325th race for Eureka.

Division 3 contested a points race and tactics were aplenty as each rider attempted to outsmart the field.

Tim Sinclair and Patrick Garner topped the points table as the last lap started – they broke away from the field and contested their third head-to-head sprint to decide the overall race victory.

Next Sunday the club will stage the prestigious Charlie Braszell Handicap on the Mount Misery circuit. The race finishes with a mile long climb, which always ensures a worthy winner.

Europa Cafe W.A.R.S. race 3 results – Division 1 – 1st – Tim Canny, 2nd – Dayne Pearce. Division 2 – 1st – Tony Mirabella, 2nd – Jason Birch, 3rd – Andrew Rushton. Division 3 – 1st – Patrick Garner (11 points), 2nd – Tim Sinclair (9 points), 3rd – Peter Livitsanis (2 points). Division 4 – 1st – Roger McMillan, 2nd – Bob Morley, 3rd – Amy Benham.