Baird earns Mounts’ champion player award

September 29, 2023 BY

Hard at it: Fresh off helping guide Mount Pleasant to HDFL seniors’ glory, Adam Baird has claimed the club’s top-level best and fairest award. Photo: FILE

GUN on-baller and co-coach of the senior premiership team, Adam Baird has earned Mount Pleasant FNC’s fairest and best award for the 2023 season.

A tally of 151 votes in 18 matches meant Baird led the race for the Peter Nihill perpetual cup.

Baird’s play in and around the packs or up forward in Heathcote DFNL action caught the eye of those casting votes.

A Michelsen Medallist and multiple premiership winner in his time at Golden Square, Baird’s recruitment was a huge coup for the Blues.

This season he teamed with Ben Weightman as co-coach as Darren Walsh took up the new role as director of coaching.

It turned out to be a winning formula as Mounts won their 20th senior premiership.

Runner-up in the senior best and fairest was key defender William Wallace on 134 votes.

Next best were captain and number one ruckman Chris Down, 89 votes; and gun forward Ben Weightman on 86.

The top 10 was rounded out by Fletcher White on 83, Mitch Rovers 67, Riley McNamara 61, Bryce Hinneberg 41, Michael Whiting 31 and Zach Charles 29.

A tally of 68 votes meant Nick Edwards claimed the John O’Dwyer perpetual trophy as reserves team champion from Jack Teasdale with 51 and Jack Mackenzie on 47.

The Mary Conroy perpetual trophy as under-18s team champion went to Will Bowles on 91 votes as Jett Malone was runner-up on 67.

In the netball awards, Ava Nihill and Maeve Tupper were locked on 32 votes after the final card for A Grade was called.

Runner-up was Sarah Mannes on 28 votes as Aisling Tupper with 26 and Ivy Harrop at 23 were to the fore in a season where the Carine Comer-coached Blues finished fourth.

The A Reserve team champion was Maisy Harrop on 44 votes, Audrey Gargiulop was a runaway winner on 50 votes in B Grade, and honours in B Reserve went to Lara Bish on 59 votes.

A great year for the Blues included the 17 & Under and 15 & Under grand final wins.

Team champions were Madalyn Nihill in 17 & Under, as Juliette Hogan and Tarli Nihill tied in 15 & Under, and the 13 & Under fairest and best was Ayla Nihill.