Hawks face test at South Bendigo

October 27, 2023 BY

Going again: Action in the second round of the local leg of the Bendigo Campaspe Goldfields Bowls Saturday Pennant is set for this weekend. Photo: FILE

EMPHATIC victors in the season’s first round, South Bendigo and Eaglehawk meet in this Saturday’s Premier Division action in the Bendigo leg of Bendigo Campaspe Goldfields Bowls.

The Diggers will have home-green advantage at South Bendigo when they take on the Hawks from 1.30pm.

South Bendigo rolled into the 2023-24 season by scoring a 15-92 to 3-82 win at Kangaroo Flat.

Winning skippers for South Bendigo were Daryl Rowley and Liam Crapper by margins of nine and 12 shots against Malcolm McLean and Paul Moller.

The Diggers’ rink skipped by Victorian representative Brad Holland drew 22-all with Greg Podesta.

The Roos did mark a 27-19 victory as the Brad Marron-skipped rink outpointed Garri Conforti.

Eaglehawk will be keen to build on the momentum of a 16-86 to 2-68 win against Inglewood.

The Borough line-up was in terrific form at home as Kym Schumacher, Lachlan Bowland and Tony Ellis marked wins by 10, two and 15 shots.

The Geoffrey Wilson-skipped rink from Inglewood marked a 20-11 win against Simon Carter.

Another big match this Saturday will be at Bendigo East where the Magpies take on Bendigo in Lansell Street.

Last season’s runner-up, Bendigo East will be determined to hit back from a 4-69 to 14-86 loss on Golden Square’s turf.

A tough task for the Magpies whose skippers in round one were Aaron Tomkins, James McGillivray, Darren Burgess and Marc Smith.

Bendigo’s run for back-to-back premierships began with a 16-80 to 2-59 win at home against Moama.

Winning skippers for Bendigo were Ian Ross, Luke Hoskin and Tim Arnold.

Moama will be at home to take on Golden Square this round.

The Kevin Anderson-skipped rink was the only winner for the Steamers last Saturday.

A gun recruit for Golden Square, Andrew Brown scored a 21-shot victory in the season opener and will play a crucial role on Moama’s greens.

Other skippers for the Bulldogs are Thomas Lester, Travis Berry and Dale Jackson.

Inglewood and Kangaroo Flat will be desperate to avoid consecutive defeats.

Skippers for Inglewood in the season opener were Geoffrey Wilson, Robert Day, Lindsay Kelly and Ian Chamberlain.