Anglesea flexes its muscle, Barrabool remains undefeated

November 16, 2020 BY

Anglesea's Dale Kerr guides one into the gap on his way to a half-century on the weekend. Photo: PETER MARSHALL

A dominant victory over Ocean Grove saw Anglesea remain as one of two undefeated sides after three rounds of the Bellarine Peninsula Cricket Association A1 competition.

Big contributions from Anglesea batsmen Ned Cooper (69 runs), Dale Kerr (53) and Tyron Norman (45*) saw the side post 4-200 after its 40 over, which proved a task far too strong for Ocean Grove.

The Grubbers could only muster 93 runs, bowled out in the 40th over. Darcy Elliot was huge with the ball, taking 4-11.

Alongside Anglesea, Barrabool has started its 2020/21 campaign without a blemish thus far.

On Saturday, James Jirik (69) led the way to set Barwon Heads 146 runs for victory. But the Seagulls fell well short, a middle-order collapse of 6-12 gave Barrabool full control.

In other round three matches, St Leonards sent Jan Juc into bat and made a couple of early breakthroughs, but the Sharks worked their way to 162. St Leonards was behind the eight ball from the get go, after slumping to 2-2. Skipper Andrew Spengler continued his brilliant form, scoring 73 off 79 balls, but St Leonards inevitably fell 25 runs short.

A 79-run opening stand between Richard Peters (46) and Curtly Balshaw (41) set the tone for Collendina as it posted a 12-run win over Queenscliff.