BPCA announces Team of the Decade

November 5, 2020 BY

Jan Juc's Ben Grinter.

COLLENDINA Cricket Club premiership hero Corey Walter has been named captain of the Bellarine Peninsula Cricket Association Team of the Decade.

Walter, who has placed the past two seasons in Division 2 of the Geelong Cricket Association at Marshall, made a habit of making big runs for Collendina from the start of the decade to the 2017/18 season. The damaging opener made numerous centuries with his most productive season of the decade coming in 2016/17, where he averaged 61.1.

Walter said it was an honour to not only be named in the side, but acknowledged as captain.

“It’s a really nice, it’s a bit unexpected, I had no idea they were doing it.

“It’s definitely nice to be recognised for some of the hard work I’ve put it.

“It’s something you’ll back on when you finish up and be proud of.

“There’s some absolute quality in that team, some great leader… it was an honour to be named captain.”

While Walter may not be pulling on the whites for Collendina this season, the club remains in his heart and he plans on finishing his career where it started.

Walter spoke fondly of his memories of heading down to the club with Dad and brother Nathan, a fellow premiership player, and spending hours in the nets.

He said he was loving his time playing on turf in GCA2 but was adamant a return to Collendina was a matter of when, not if.

“I’ll definitely be coming back… I want to give back to Collendina.

“It’s hard to see Collendina struggle a little bit like they did last year.”

The BPCA also named its 2019/20 All-Star team.

Team of the Decade

Corey Walter (Collendina) – captain, Kane Pickering (Barrabool), Ben Grinter (Jan Juc), Jason Mallett (Barwon Heads/Drysdale), Simon Seignior (Barwon Heads), Nick Smith (Jan Juc), Paul McGrath (Portarlington) – vice-captain, Ned Cooper (Anglesea), Michael Kenneady (Ocean Grove), Sam Schaller (Barwon Heads), Jye Hearps (Collendina), Dale Kerr (Anglesea).

All-Star team

Ben Grinter (Jan Juc) – captain, Ned Cooper (Anglesea), Lewis Hyland (Barwon Heads), Nick Smith (Jan Juc), Tim Frankenburg (Queenscliff), Tyron Norman (Anglesea), Dale Kerr (Anglesea) – vice-captain, Kane Pickering (Barrabool), Michael Falton (Barwon Heads), Andrew Spengler (St Leonards), Cam Egan (St Leonards), Nick Fairchild (Little River).