June 6, 2019 BY

WHILST a lot of rain was welcomed by many this week, spare a thought for the golf addicts who did not relish the thought of a lot of wet weather golf. In spite of the rain and bitterly cold winds some avid golfers did play on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday. Saturday was fabulous though, weather wise and the course was looking marvellous. Stan Booley Match Play Final – Congratulations to Aaron Loates who defeated Sam Coe in the Booley match play final. Aaron and Sam had both navigated their way through some tough matches in the earlier rounds to make their way to final. After a closely contested final, Aaron broke away on the back 9 to win 4 and 2. This is a fantastic event supported by our members. We look forward to next year’s Booley already!

Sunday May 26 – Mixed – No Competition due to Golf Australia Junior Event. The event was won by Angus O’Brien from Kingston Heath who shot an impressive score of 3 over par in tough conditions. Our own Matt McFarlane came in 5th place fresh off a win at the Winchelsea Open the day before.

Monday May 27 – Men PAR: 5 Players – John Hargreaves (16) took on the weather and finished square with Glenn Burns (14) next best with -1.

Tuesday May 28 – Women 9 Holes Stableford: 30 Players – Sue Webb needed the countback to win from Diane Smith with both scoring 20.

Wednesday May 29 – Men Stableford: – 7 Players. Dean Anderson (19) must have been glad he endured the miserable weather because he scored 37 to win by 3 from Dean Armstrong (10) 34. NTP: 4th – Colin Gannon, 8th – Colin Gannon, 13th –Doug Parkin, 17th – And Golden Shot Winner – Dean Anderson (2.48m and $6).

Thursday May 30 – Women PAR: 12 Players – In more unpleasant weather Jeanette Moorfoot (22) scored -3 to win from Trish Danaher (25) on -4. NTP: 8th – Wendy Tottenham, 17th and Golden Shot Winner – Trish Danaher (2.14m and $12).

Saturday June 1 – Men Stroke and Quarterly Medal – Blue Tees: 146 Players. At last … a very nice day for golf with the course in excellent condition. Tim Singleton (7) won A Grade and the Q.M. with a fine 67. Next best was Alan Bartle (9) with 70. B Grade went to Randy Burn (13) with 70 from Cedo Rakic (10) 71. Michael Warner (15) snapped up C Grade with 69 from Jeff Salmon (15) 70. Women Stableford: 18 Players – Helen Lymer (28) won by 2 with 36 from Jay Magee (14) 34 countback. NTP: 4th – Jay Magee, 8th – Neville Carracher, 13th – Cameron Burn, 17th and Golden Shot Winner – David Yelland, (1.40m and $152).