TORQUAY GOLF CLUB – January 17, 2019

January 17, 2019 BY

Tuesday January 8: 51 Ladies contested the January Club Medal on Tuesday and it was exciting to see Sue Hehir win it (and B Grade) with a Nett Score of 68. Jenni Cottrill wasn’t far behind with 70 Nett and the A Grade win.

L.Grebe, C.Brunt, W.Lawson, G.Richards, D.Liley won the NTP’s and Rosemary Farrell won the Jackpot. Bev Appleton also had a big day scoring 40 points and winning the NTP in the Resort Competition.

Wednesday January 9: An amazing full field of 238 players participated on Wednesday.

Steve May was first man out at 6:52am and his 41 points lasted all day to record a C Grade win. Evan Heubner won A with 39, Eric Black took B Grade honours with 39 and Ray Morgan was the winner in D with 37 c/b. D.Condon scored an eagle on the first and A.Anderson, W.Bumpstead and A.Bishop won NTP’s.

Gary Gemmola took out the massive Jackpot prize… cha ching! 84yo Bob Gough had a huge 47 points to win the Resort competition and the NTP.

Friday January 11: Another busy day with over 120 players competing in the Par competition.

Mark Franklin won A Grade with 5 up and Ian Price shot was 4 up in B. G.Perks and D.Abbey won the NTP’s whilst Geoff Drury secured the Jackpot. Wendy Lawson scored a handy 5 up for the Ladies with M.Bradley and K.Potter
winning the NTPs.

Saturday Friday 12: Another large field of 229 players on Saturday. The morning groups benefited from the conditions as the wind blew up in the afternoon. A Member even suggested “…the wind would blow a dog of its chain”.

Garry Lenehan scored 42 in A, John Mckay won on countback with 39 in B, Nick Turnball scored a huge 46 in C and D Grade Winner was Peter Ronne with 40. With 46 points Nick also claimed the annual Gorway Trophy. Marina Naughton beat all the girls with 37 and Brian Brown scored an unbelievable 48 points in the Resort competition. NTP winners for the day
were R.Forbes, D.Matheson, Marina Naughton, D.Abbey, P.Dowler, R.Muffet, N.Jeffrey and Daryl Stevenson was all smiles with his Jackpot win. Mystery Super 6 winners were B.Brown, M.Naughton and M.Hooiveld. A special mention to James Deans who knocked in an Albatross on 11.

Sunday January 13: Ado Cations topped A Grade on Sunday with 3 up on a count back from Bradley Green. Colin Gibbs secured B with an impressive 7 up. B.Boadle won an NTP whilst Dan O’Keefe won an NTP and the Jackpot. Kathy Naoumidis had a day out, wining the Ladies with Square and taking out both NTPs.