TORQUAY GOLF CLUB – May 09, 2019

May 9, 2019 BY

Tuesday it was Stableford for our ladies and Lyndsey Dunstan shot 35 points to win A Grade. B Grade went to Wendy Callahan also with 35 points and C Grade was won by Pip Cassady on 37 points. Resort winner Gwen Sturrock had 33 points and our 9-hole win went to Judy Dickie 17 points. NTPs Shelly Clark, Lyndsey Dunstan, Barbara Barnes, Barbara Croaker and Margaret DeVries hit the jackpot.

Tuesday 7th of May will be the start of our club championships. Good luck to all our ladies who will participate this year. May the golfing gods be good to you and may all your puts go in!

Wednesday the men played 4BBB Multiplier and our winning team of Sam Coleman and Max Ellis had an impressive 91 points. Runners up Marty Stewart and Wayne Barrett shot 77 points and Third place went to Jim Cairns and Doug Young with 74 points. The Resort winners were Ron Hedley and Ian Lawson with 71 points. NTPs Rod Lynch, Geoff Davie,
Robert Brzozek, Peter Lester, Jim Wood and Max Ellis hit the jackpot. The ball run down went to 52 points.

Friday Arthur Crofts had +3 to take out A Grade and B Grade winner Brian Powell making a comeback to golf shot an impressive +6. Mary Sweet was the best for the ladies and it was obviously a tough day for the girls as Mary’s winning score was -6. Guest winner Garrick Calnan (Gungahlin Lakes GC) -2. NTPs Brian Baranski, Wanda Paterson, Bill McKenzie and Ryan Reynolds the jackpot.

Saturday kicked off the 1st round of the men’s Club Championships and weather conditions were not favorable, strong westerly winds and at times rain pounded players but still scoring was hot. Greg Dennis started off his campaign in good form shooting 67 to win for A Grade. B Grade winner also having a great round of 67 was Ian Dendle. C Grade went to Greg Bradley shooting 68 and D Grade was won by Rob Harding with 69. Greg Dennis and Ian Dendle will play off for the May medal in our next stroke round. Margot Bradley was the best for the ladies with 77 and will playoff for the May medal against Ronnie Beacon who was runner up on 77 and once again the playoff will be on our next stroke round. Laurie Wanders shot 40 points to win our Resort competition. NTPs Doug Thomas, Bob Manning, Emma Pearce, Ian Dendle, Rod Brown, Ian Sumner and Tim Sinnott hit the jackpot.

Sunday Once again we had a mixed competition today and with 39 points Tom Cairnduff was our A Grade winner. B Grade went to Jim Fraser scoring 43 points. Guest winner James Collie shot 46 points. NTPs Graham Travers, Wayne Olney and Rodger Thomas hit the jackpot.