TORQUAY GOLF CLUB – May 23, 2019

May 23, 2019 BY

TUESDAY was the second round of the Club Championships for our ladies and there were some interesting scores. Although conditions were perfect the ladies struggled to finish under 80 and only three scored under 75. Monday the semi-finals were held, and all scores will be available on the members notice board. By the time this newsletter goes to print we will have our winners from all divisions. We will have full results in next week’s edition. Daily winners were for A grade Wendy Lawson 74. B grade Di barker with the score of the day 73 which earned Di this Month’s Medal. C grade Eleanor Douglas 78. Tim Ratcliffe won the Resort scoring 36 points. Congratulations to Gill Strickland who was our April Playoff Medal winner. Mandy Buckley won best gross with 82. Best putters today Mary Sweet and Gail Rooney with 29 putts. NTPs Valma Davis, Diane Liley, Mandy Buckley, Margi Black and Judy Bell the jackpot.

Wednesday May 15 – Gary Taylor was our A grade winner with +4. B grade went to Gary Gemmola +3. C grade was won by Alan Tompkin +3 and Michael Ryan with the score of the day took out D grade shooting +7. Ron Waters shot +4 to win the Resort. NTPs Tyson Gill, Barry Leith, Garry Smith, Rod Papworth and Chris Brown the jackpot.

Friday May 17 – we had another small field of players due to Pennant. However, 66 players were still able to get into the competitions. For the men Paul Ross won A grade 39 points and B grade winner Richard Fearon 37 points. The ladies win went to Marg Joyner 31 points. NTPs Chris Thompson, Terry Dowling and Bern Farrelly hit the jackpot.

Saturday May 18 – the 3rd round of the Men’s Club Championships was held with the top 12 players vying for a spot in the 4th round which will be then cut to the top 4 players in all divisions. Full results will be on the members notice boards. Taking out 1st place for the net round was Rod Papworth with 67. For those not in contention for Club Champions there was a Stableford competition and winners were A grade Greg Baeck 33 points. B grade Justin Baker 36 points. C grade Graham Jennings 40 points and D grade Paul Delandre 40 points. Ian Colwell took out the Resort win 43 points and our ladies winner Di Barker 33 points. Guest winner Robert Manz (Camberwell GC) 39 points. NTPs Wes Bumpstead, Clive Smith, Chris Fitzgerald,Ian Colwell, Inge Oliver, Martin Cassar and Mark Rosewall the jackpot.

Sunday May 19 – Wayne O’Brien shot 40 points to take out A grade and B grade went to Lachlan Boyd with 39 points. Christine Wilson won the ladies 32 points and guest winner Jack Milgate (Green Acres GC) 34 points. NTPs Emma Pearce, Kathy Naoumidis, John Harding, Damian Armour and Rob Templeton hit the jackpot.