New faces join heritage committee

June 14, 2024 BY

Advocating: Nine community members have joined the Ballarat Heritage Advisory Committee. Photo: FILE

NINE people have been appointed to the City of Ballarat’s Ballarat Heritage Advisory Committee.

The committee is an advocacy platform for community members relating to heritage issues throughout the municipality.

In March, expressions of interest were advertised and applications were assessed against criteria including lived experience which expands on or fills gaps of existing members and skills to take part in this committee.

Four of the new members were elected as community representatives and another five were co-opted to join the committee due to their skills, experience and interests.

Two of the new members are under 25 years old which aims to increase diversity.

The community representatives are Harrison Morton, Nicole Davydova, Elizabeth Marsden, and Dr David Waldron.

The co-opted members are Christine Sergaert, Aydon Edwards, Paul Gordon-Smith, Merle Hathaway and Samantha Fabry.

Heritage Advisory Committee chair, Cr Samantha McIntosh said it was great to see new members join the committee.

“The committee’s purpose is to provide an advocacy platform for Ballarat’s heritage matters,” she said.

“The committee is crucial in assisting the City of Ballarat and delivering the Council Plan for a city that conserves and enhances our natural and built assets.

“This is such an important group of very committed volunteers with exceptional talents and it is great to see so many come forward wanting to be a part of this advisory group.”