Crème de Learmonth: John Faulkner, Winter Aggregate winner Peter Livitsanis, Club Aggregate champ Jason Hendry, Commodores Cup first place Jakkii Dawson, and club person awardee for 2019 Dean Wells. Photo: SUPPLIED

Eureka Cycling closes out year

November 28, 2019 BY

THE final event for Eureka Cycling Club in 2019 was a time trial under glorious blue skies at Learmonth on Sunday, 24 November.

The 35-kilometre individual time trial saw all 25 riders competing for two prizes. The lowest time on handicap received the Commodores Cup. The fastest time on the day was crowned the TT Champion.

Jakkii Dawson claimed the handicap event victory by just 20 seconds.

Craig Lee rode the Fastest Time of the day to earn a third Championship title in as many weeks, having won the Eureka Road Race Championship, the A Grade Veteran State Championship, as well as Sunday’s event.

Lee creates history by being the first rider to have won the Eureka Championship for each discipline – criterium, road race and time trial.

Sunday saw the 2019 Club trophy presentations also held and medal winners at the recent Ken Heres Road Race Championship Day received their medals.

The Europa Cafe/ Hopscotch Cafe Winter Aggregate Race Series medals were awarded, and the same trio of riders also filled the 2019 Eureka Aggregate for the overall season.

Dean Wells received the Steelsmith Engineering Trophy (club person award) Malcolm Rock was honoured with life membership in recognition of his tireless work for the club over many years.

Commodores Cup results (time gaps are to the winner) – 1st – Jakkii Dawson, 2nd – Wayne Klauss at 20 secs, 3rd – Bob Braszell at 42 secs, 4th – Shaun Martin at 1m 18s, 5th – Lauren Burnett at 2m 15s

Eureka Time Trial Championship – 1st – Craig Lee, 50m 11s ave. 41.8kph, 2nd – Tim Canny, 50m 28s ave. 41. 6kph, 3rd – Matt Bowman, 53m 0s ave. 39.6kph, 4th – Stu Brien, 53m 10s ave. 39.5kph, 5th – Dave Ogilvie, 53m 52s ave 39.0kph

2019 Europa / Hopscotch Winter Aggregate – 1st – Peter Livitsanis, 2nd – Jason Hendry, 3rd – Jakkii Dawson

2019 Eureka Club Aggregate – 1st – Jason Hendry, 2nd – Jakkii Dawson, 3rd – Peter Livitsanis