Portarlington Golf Club – April 5, 2018

April 4, 2018 BY

Golf clubs are places where records are made, and we have a very impressive Trophy Cabinet in our entrance foyer area where these records are on display for all to see, in addition to the Honour Boards in the main clubroom area. However, one record that you won’t find on display is that of the highest score in a stroke round on any one hole! One of our esteemed Past Presidents, who shall remain nameless, rather sheepishly claimed a new all-time record on the 6th hole with an astonishing 31. Let’s hope this doesn’t discourage him enough to rule him out for next week!

Tuesday March 27: Men’s Stableford
A field of 157 men arrived for the day’s competition, with Darren Orr emerging at the top of the tree with a score of 42 points, also heading C Grade by a point from Barry Oswald. Ron Hansen was best A Grader with 38 on a countback from Kane McKenzie, Matthew Barnes won B Grade with 41 from a 38 by John Cranston, and St Leonards GC duo Chris Elvey and Bernard Dumont headed D Grade with 41 and 39 respectively. The NTP’s were won by Peter Solohub, Michael Jeffers and Rex Johnson, and Matt Salter collected the ProPin.

Wednesday March 28: Ladies’ Stroke – April Medal
A field of 53 ladies were in the field for another monthly medal, and it was Chris Callan who beat all-comers with a nett 67, to also top the C Graders from Sandra Kearton’s 32. Club Captain Jan Cogger temporarily forgot her onerous duties to enjoy an excellent round and win A Grade with 71 from a 74 by Jeanette Johnson, and Diane Roede continued her good run by topping B Grade with 72 by a shot from Helen Boyle. The NTP’s were scored by Jeanette Johnson, Helen Powe and Sandy Issell, and the ProPins by Jan Cogger (0-25) and Heather Spry (26-45). The Ladies Stableford comp, which was run concurrently, was won by Gaye Power with 36 points.

Saturday March 31: Men’s and Ladies’ Stroke
A big Easter turnout with 175 men and 29 ladies working off their Easter eggs. Well done to Mark Beasley with a nett 69 to take the Trophy of the Day and C Grade by a shot from Arthur Johnson. Top of A Grade was Max Edmanson with 70 from Josh Kent’s 71, Doug Hill headed B Grade with 69 from MatthewKelly’s 71, and visitor John Birsa fron Riverside led the D Graders with 70 from William Adams with 72. The NTPs were collected by Justin McGrath, Linton Newitt and Paul Schwartz, and the ProPin by Rhys Millard. Lynne Kirby topped the ladies with a nett 76 on a countback from Judy Said, the NTPs going to Marg Mascoll and Jenny Pearson, who also scored the ProPin and best putter.

Coming Events
Saturday April 7: Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford
Tuesday April 10: Men’s Stableford
Wednesday April 11: Ladies’ Stroke
Thursday April 5: Men’s and Ladies’ Stableford