Torquay Golf Club – May 10, 2018

May 9, 2018 BY

TUESDAY: was the 1st round of the lady’s club championships and scores are tight at the top. Rounds will be held over the next 3 weeks. Daily winners were A Grade Ainsley McCallum 69. B Grade Margot Bradley 70 and C Grade Di Roberts 71. Bev Appleton took out the Resort competition with 36 points. Congratulations to Ainsley McCallum taking out this year’s Club Spoon (Best net score) 69 and was also the winner of the Norma Blackney Grandmothers Trophy. NTPs Jenni Cottrill, Margaret DeVries, Bev Appleton, Joan Thomson, Paula Mitchell and Di Slater hit the jackpot pin.

Wednesday: the men played 4BBB multiplier and calculators were at the ready as teams headed out to their tees confident of huge scores. The day proved to be a little tough though and scores were lower than expected. Taking out first place was Bob Hayles and Justin Willis with 73 on c/b from Barry Machin and Don Miloshis. Third place was the team of David Rossiter and Mick Nemeth with 68 on c/b from John Potter and Steve Menegazzo. Resort winners Bob Gough and Alan Douglas scored 97 and runners up Brian Brown and Don Stuchbery had 63. NTPs Ian Sheldon, Ross Forbes, Greg Touzel, Russell Stewart, Ian Foot and Joe Magliano took out this week’s jackpot.

Friday: conditions started out perfect then out of nowhere the wind blew up causing havoc with swings and hats. However, some were up to the challenge like Russell Stewart scoring +2 to win A grade and then B grade winner Warren Harris shot +4. Eight ladies played today but only two finished well done to Vicki Rossiter who won with -3 and to Jill Chick just on getting through the round. Guest winner John Cameron had -3. NTPs Herb Herb Hertaeg, Jayson Moran and David Dodd won the jackpot.

Saturday: also kicked of the 1st round of the men’s Club Championships and that will be played over the next 4 weeks. Our daily winners were for A grade Paul Byron 70. B grade Dean Pearce 66. C grade Michael Vandewater 71 and D grade Rodger Thomas 66. Kaylene potter won the ladies with 78. Resort winner Henry Kelly shot 38 points and our guest winner Jason Brun had 78. NTPs Ben Joyce, Marina Naughton, Ronnie Beacom, Alan Scholten, Henry Kelly, Dave McPhail, Ben Thomas and Bill Fitzpatrick hit the jackpot. The Medal will be a playoff between Rodger and Dean on the next medal round.

Lessons: Is your driver giving you grief then help is at hand Kel Llewellyn or Darrell Brown our coaching specialists would be happy to give you the skills you need to improve your game. Call the golf shop on 52611677 and make a time.