Torquay Golf Club – May 3, 2018

May 2, 2018 BY

CONGRATULATIONS to our ladies who raised over $700 on April 17 for our annual Breast Cancer Day, the money raised was from donations and raffles. Thanks to all the ladies for looking fabulous as well in their pink outfits.

Tuesday: it was 4BBB Stableford the ladies and the winning A Grade team of Jeanette Langan and Mrs Chris Thompson shot +8. Runners-up also with +8 were Ross Holland and Judy Bell. B Grade winners Lyn Wilson and Yvonne Mazylis had an impressive +10 and runners up with +9 were Monica Hingston and Ros Lewis. Rosie Jones took out the Resort with -4 and our 9-hole winner Val Robertson had +1. NTPs Judy Bell, Mandy Buckley, Ainsley McCallum and Chris Rudd hit the jackpot.

Wednesday: once again we honor and pay respect to our Anzacs on this Wednesday the 25th of April 2018. Many turned out to the dawn services across the nation and of course crowds flocked to Torquay in perfect dawn weather. Then it was off to brekki and a game of golf in our annual Anzac Day tournament. Thanks to John and Joye Burton for all their work in organizing the day and especially all the great prizes that were on offer. Dean Pearce took out the Returned Servicemen Trophy with 37 points. Our men’s winner was Gerry Briody with 41 points and taking out the ladies was Jeanette Kent scoring 40 points. NTPs Peter Filshie, David Smith, Dean Pearce, Frank Stokes, Peter Owen Anderson, Angela Royal, Cheryl Brunt, Alison Bouchier and Marg Joyner.

Friday: Geoff Walters is still in good touch shooting 39 points to win A Grade. Taking out B Grade with 43 points was John Barber. Sue Cunningham won the ladies scoring 31 points and our guest winner Chris Niven (Ocean Grove GC) had 37 points. NTPs Ado Cations and Rob Hawkins hit the jackpot.

Saturday: Greg Baeck still in holiday mode put in a solid round of 39 points to take out A Grade. Glen Mifsud shot 40 points to win B Grade and C Grade went to George Arnold 38 points. Wendy Poyner finished on top for the ladies with 38 points and Ross Forbes won the Resort scoring 34 points. Guest winner Mark Goddard had 35 points. NTPs Greg Giampiccolo, Rick McNamara, Jared Toyne, Ron Hedley, Marina Naughton, Clare Fitzpatrick, Steve Grayson and Andrew Spicer hit the jackpot.

Sunday: Wayne Barrett shot 39 points to win A Grade and B Grade winner Rick Dahlenburg had 42 points. Kathy Naoumidis (Keysborugh GC) won the ladies with 29 points. NTPs Peter Rees, Steve Menegazzo and Dave McPhail hit the jackpot.

Lessons: How is your short game need a lesson then call the golf shop on 52611677 and get that perfect short game stroke with Kel Llewellyn or Darrell Brown it may just help to get your score back on track!