About: torquaybooks

Posts by: torquaybooks

June 25, 2020

Book reviews with Torquay Books, June 25

Rootbound: Rewilding a Life by Alice Vincent From Telegraph’s gardening columnist and founder of Noughticulture, Rootbound explores how a whole new generation are discovering the power...

July 24, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: MEMORY CRAFT by Lynne Kelly

In her bestselling book The Memory Code, Lynne Kelly uncovers the memory methods of the ancients. She has now tested them thoroughly and in Memory...

July 24, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: BIG SKY – A JACKSON BRODIE NOVEL by Kate Atkinson

Jackson Brodie has relocated to a quiet seaside town, in the occasional company of his recalcitrant teenage son and an aging Labrador, both at...

June 27, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: LAND OF FENCES by Mark Smith

Finn and Kas are surviving on the coast – more than surviving: they’re enjoying the surf, the summer and being together. And now, the lights...

June 27, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: MAYBE YOU SHOULD TALK TO SOMEONE by Lori Gottleib

As a therapist, Lori knows a lot about pain, about the ways in which pain is tied to loss, and how change and loss...

May 29, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD by C. A. Fletcher

My name’s Griz. I’ve never been to school, I’ve never had friends, in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a...

May 29, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: MASTER OF MY FATE by Sienna Brown

William Buchanan lived an extraordinary life - born a slave on a plantation in Jamaica, he escaped the gallows more than once, took part in...

April 24, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: FLED by Meg Keneally

Highway robber. Convict. Runaway. Mother. She will do anything for freedom, but at what cost? Jenny Trelawney is no ordinary thief. Forced by poverty to live...

April 24, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: THE TIGER CATCHER by Paullina Simons

Can true love ever die? The first novel in a beautiful, heartbreaking new trilogy from Paullina Simons, the international bestselling author of Tully and...

March 28, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: THE VAN APFEL GIRLS ARE GONE by Felicity McLean

A compulsive, note-perfect debut for fans of The Virgin Suicides and Picnic at Hanging Rock. “We lost all three girls that summer. Let them slip...

March 28, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: THE RIP by Mark Brandi

The new novel from the critically acclaimed, bestselling author of Wimmera. An urban crime novel that slowly and masterfully hooks you in... then shocks with...

February 28, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: WHEN THE WAR IS OVER by Jackie French, Illustrated by Anne Spudvilas

From one of Australia’s most-loved authors comes a book about homecomings, and the enduring power of love. Now the war is over And they say the...

February 28, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: SLEEP TIGHT, PLATYPUP by Renee Treml

Poor little Platypup is frightened of the dark. What is that shadow? Who made that noise? But there’s nothing to fear. With his mother by...

January 31, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: THE BINDING by Bridget Collins

The Binding is a beautiful homage to the allure and life-changing power of books. Young Emmett Farmer is working in the fields when a strange...

January 31, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: RED MOON by Kim Stanley Robinson

Red Moon is written by multi-award winning author Kim Stanley Robinson, who has authored more than 20 books. His work is often described as...

December 26, 2018

BOOK REVIEW: THE HELPLINE by Katherine Collette

An eccentric woman who is great with numbers - but not so great with people - realises it’s up to her to pull a...

December 26, 2018

BOOK REVIEW: THE AU PAIR by Emma Rous

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton. Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summerborn...

November 22, 2018

BOOK REVIEW: SPEAKING UP by Gillian Triggs

As president of the Human Rights Commission, Gillian Triggs advocated for the disempowered, the disenfranchised, the marginalised. She withstood relentless political pressure and media...

November 22, 2018

BOOK REVIEW: THE ARSONIST by Chloe Hooper

The Arsonist takes readers inside the hunt for a fire-lighter. After Black Saturday, a February 2009 day marked by 47-degree heat and firestorms, arson...

September 26, 2018

Book Review: Greenlight By Benjamin Stevenson

Four years ago, in the small town of Birravale, Eliza Dacey was murdered. Within hours, her killer was caught. Or was he? Curtis Wade was...

September 26, 2018

Book Review: Transcription By Kate Atkinson

London, 1940. Juliet Armstrong is an 18-year-old with an interesting job - transcribing the conversations of a fascist group that has been infiltrated by MI5. She...

August 29, 2018

Book Review: Scrublands By Chris Hammer

Riversend is a hot, dry, godforsaken country town, home to Australia’s worst mass murder. One year ago, a charming and well-loved priest mysteriously opened fire...

August 29, 2018

Book Review: Boy Swallows Universe By Trent Dalton

Award winning journalist Trent Dalton has written a novel from the heart, full of compassion, forgiveness, strangeness, violence and justice. Eli Bell doesn’t come from...

July 25, 2018

Book Review: The Nowhere Child By Christian White

Kim Leamy is an Australian photography teacher based in Melbourne. Kim has just learnt she is actually Sammy Went, a two-year-old who went missing from...

July 25, 2018

Book Review: Clock Dance By Anne Tyler

Anne Tyler returns with another ‘slice of life’ novel. Willa Drake’s life has always been dictated to her by circumstances out of her control; her...

June 20, 2018

Book Review: Calypso By David Sedaris

David Sedaris entertains in this book with stories about his family, his friends, but mostly himself. The opening story is perhaps the funniest. Having organised a...

June 20, 2018

Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen By Alison Weir

The third stunning novel in the Six Tudor Queens series by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn,...

May 30, 2018

Book Review: Burning Fields By Alli Sinclair

It’s 1948 and the world is reeling from the devastation of World War II. In the Australian Women’s Army Service, women have been doing...