Otway Coast Committee appoints new members

November 14, 2017 BY

THE Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP) has appointed three new members to the Otway Coast Committee.

Mikhala McCann, Libby Riches and Kris Thomas will join the committee responsible for managing coastal Crown land between Marengo and Separation Creek.

DELWP regional manager for land planning and approvals Greg Leece said the newly appointed members had strong links with the local community and are passionate about the environment.

“Their skills and knowledge will complement the experience of existing committee members.”

They join Andrew Buchanan (chair), Robyn Adams (deputy chair), Bruce Adams, Dianne Clarke, Graham Costin and Jennifer Johnson on the committee.

Recent works overseen by the committee include repairs to the Apollo Bay rotunda and dune renourishment works at the Marengo and Apollo Bay beaches.

Mr Leece said the committee has an important role in providing advice on the delivery of coastal management to the local community.

“We are confident this committee is well-equipped to represent their local community in protecting and enhancing our region’s marine and coastal environment into the future.

“It is important to ensure committees who are making decisions on behalf of the community are representative of the community, its opinions and its needs.

“The newly appointed Otway Coast Committee has achieved an equal gender split, ensuring the committee is an accurate representation of the community they serve.

“I would like to thank those who submitted applications as well as outgoing committee members, who were committed to managing this important stretch of coastline on behalf of the region.”