T20 Cup Round of 32 draw unveiled

November 11, 2023 BY

Bell Park and Alexander Thomson met in the Round of 16 of last season's GCA T20 Cup. Photo: VINNIE VAN OORSCHOT

THE first round of the Geelong Cricket Association T20 Cup has been unveiled, following the first draw on October 31.

The 32 selected sides represent all four divisions of the GCA.

The knockout-style tournament will take place throughout the 2023/24 campaign over five separate days of play.

GCA1 side St Joseph’s (7/124) won the inaugural T20 Cup earlier this year by four runs against resilient GCA2 outfit St Peters (8/128) at Queens Park Reserve.

Lower division drawn teams will host next week’s matches. The first teams drawn in matches between teams of the same division also host.

The first round randomised draw, conducted by GCA president Rob Vines and operations manager David Barnes, determined the Round of 32 will run as follows:

Teesdale (GCA4) v Grovedale (GCA1)
Manifold Heights (GCA3) v East Belmont (GCA1)
Newtown & Chilwell (GCA1) v South Barwon (GCA1)
Little River (GCA4) v Alexander Thomson (GCA3)
Corio (GCA3) v Marshall (GCA2)
Modewarre (GCA3) v North Geelong (GCA1)
Bell Park (GCA3) v Torquay (GCA2)
Guild-St Mary’s (GCA4) v St Joseph’s (GCA1)
Newcomb & District (GCA4) v Thomson (GCA3)
St Albans-Breakwater (GCA3) v Geelong City (GCA2)
Waurn Ponds-Deakin (GCA4) v Leopold (GCA2)
North Shore (GCA4) v Lethbridge (GCA4)
St Peters (GCA2) v Lara (GCA1)
Murgheboluc (GCA2) v Highton (GCA1)
Meredith (GCA4) v Bannockburn (GCA3)
Geelong West (GCA2) v Bell Post Hill (GCA2)

The Round of 16 will be conducted shortly after the first week of play via a randomised draw.

Surf Coast Times – Free local news in your inbox

Breaking news, community, lifestyle, real estate, and sport.