Torquay Boardriders celebrate a big year

November 24, 2023 BY

L-R: Torquay Boardriders Club crowned their club champions and inducted a new life member on Saturday evening. Photos: ANDY CORNER/RADICAL EXPOSURE.

TORQUAY Boardriders Club celebrated a year of local, national and international surfing success at its annual presentation celebration on Sunday.

More than 100 members of the club packed into Bird Rock to crown club champions and induct a new life member of the club.

Torquay Boardriders Club managed to hold five senior and junior aggregates and its annual premier invitational Hells Djarrak event in 2023.

U/16 ISA World Junior champion Willis Droomer and Emily McGettigan claimed the overall open men’s and women’s champions respectively.

The Open Women’s finalists, from left, Sara Hickson, Angela Ball, Sarsha Pancic and winner Emily McGettigan.


Club stalwart Johnny Hawken was inducted as a life member in recognition of over three decades of service and competitive surfing in Torquay.

Hawken is a two-time open men’s club champion (2002 and 2007) and claimed the club’s prestigious single fin title in 2010 and 2023.

He has also represented Torquay in more than 10 national qualifying teams events and has helped to co-spearhead the junior development pathways at the club in recent years.

Torquay Boardriders Club life members Tim, Johhny and Stu Hawken.


Torquay Boardriders Club vice-president Cahill Bell-Warren said it was a joy to celebrate the successes of “one of Torquay’s best years in recent memory.”

“It was the perfect way to complete our 2023 competitive season and a great way to thank our committee, members and generous sponsors.

“To see Willis and Emily take home their first open title and $1,000 cash from Geelong Financial Group was epic, and it was amazing to also induct Johnny alongside his dad Stu and brother Tim as a life member.

“He [Johhny] just continues to give his time to the club and we are so thankful for his commitment and hard work.

“The health of our club is really strong. We’ve got 13 members heading to the Australian Titles and Willis heading to World Titles next week as well.

“It was pretty special to finish off the year and toast our successes with a bang.”

Open Social champion Mac Wylie drinking from the trophy.


Club life members, Cahill Bell Warren, Ross Slaven, Mick Ray, Grayme Galbraith, Michael Di Sciascio, Dave Matthews, Johnny Hawken, Tim Hawken, Andrew Flitton, Stu Hawken, Ross Slaven, Rowan Sapwell and Bob Smith.


Torquay Boardriders Club will be hosting their AGM on December 6 at the Surfing Victoria offices in Torquay.

For more information, head to torquayboardriders.org.au

Surf Coast Times – Free local news in your inbox

Breaking news, community, lifestyle, real estate, and sport.