TORQUAY GOLF CLUB – July 18, 2019

July 18, 2019 BY

After winning the Club Medal last week Emma Pearce won again on Tuesday, scoring 2 up to win B Grade. Emma has obviously enjoyed her school holidays!

Lesley Grebe won A with 2 down and Janine Ferguson took out C with 1 down. Judy Nestor won the Resort event and Gill Patten was the top scorer for the 9 Hole Comp. Jeff Thorpe won the afternoon Stableford Comp with 35 points.

NTP winners were Lyndsey Dunstan (twice), Robyn Leith, Maureen Stuart, Gill Patten and Monica Hingston was a popular winner for the Jackpot.

Tough conditions on Wednesday. David Stephens took the honours in A with 36 points, Rick McNamara had 41 in B, Bill Young was thrilled with his 37 in C and Ron Jones scored 34 to win D Grade. Ron Hedley was a dominant winner on the
Resort with 42 points. NTPs went to Steve May, Bob Manning, John Anderson, John Laidlaw, James Wood and Bradley Green collected the Jackpot prize. Hats off to John Burton and Alan Schenk for their Eagles.

Daniel Farrar scored a well-earned victory on Friday in tough conditions with 2 down on countback from John Corcoran and the Celebrant from Ballarat, Brian Boadle. Ronnie Beacom won the Ladies comp and the NTPs were won by Paul Brunt, Bernie Hallinan, Wendy Lawson, Mary Sweet and Warren Harris scored the Jackpot.

Horrible conditions again on Saturday meaning there was only 1 grade for the Men. Michael McKinnon scored 37 points to win, a huge effort in brutal conditions. Brain Boadle won the Mystery Super Six whilst Tony Hopwood, Peter Fitzgerald, Ron Fish and Barry Hewitt won the NTPs. Michael McKinnon finished his day off in style by also winning the Jackpot on 17.

Brian Makin ventured out with 23 others on Sunday morning and enjoyed a victory with an impressive 37 points, 1 ahead of mate John Bleazby. Ben Thomas and playing partner Joe Cengic both won NTPs, whilst Garry Smith collected the Jackpot.

Let’s hope for some better conditions next week.