TORQUAY GOLF CLUB – May 30, 2019

May 30, 2019 BY

LAST week saw the finals of our Ladies and Men’s Club championships. We would like to congratulate all this year’s winners. Members can view all results on the front page of our website.

Tuesday May 21 – the ladies played stableford and scores were low for a change, all the girls seemed to report that they had trouble scoring, maybe they were all excited about the final round of the Club Championships! A few of our ladies were spectating or caddying for our finalists so we did not have our usual full field. A grade winner Chris Barr had 34 points and B grade went to Biddy Tuohey also with 34 points. Tim Ratcliffe took out the Resort competition scoring 33 points. NTPs Chris Rudd, Isabel Mahon, Chris Barr, Lesley Grebe, Gill Patten and Lois Matthews hit the jackpot.

Wednesday May 22 – was also stableford for the men and our A grade winner Garry Smith shot 41 points. B grade went to Ian Sheldon with 37 points. Ray Gogoll won C grade scoring 40 points and D grade winner was Con Mios also with 40 points. Resort winner Harry Knevitt had 38 points. Super 6 winners Blue tees Jeff Hunter 17 points and Green tees Keith Nicholson 15 points. NTPs Ron Haeberle, Laurie Wanders, Garry Smith, Graham Travers, Ray Gogoll and Craig Schmidt the jackpot.

Friday May 24 – Trent Allen had 36 points to take out A grade. B grade went to Trevor Westacott with the score of the day 42 points. Ladies winner Deb Shoesmith had 36 points. NTPs Paul Brunt, Deb Shoesmith, Di Barker, Mark Thompson and John Brunt hit the jackpot.

Saturday May 25 – for those who were not in the final round of the championships the game was stableford. A grade went to Andrew Young with the score of the day 43 points. B grade winner Rick McNamara shot 37 points and C grade was won by Kevin Mitchell 39 points. The Ladies win went to Ronnie Beacom 36 points. Roy Ball took out the Resort win 41 points and Ronald Higgins was our guest winner 39 points. The final of the Stoke round for our Club Championship was played today and our daily winner for the Stroke competition was Tyson Gill off (+1) shot 68. NTPs Ronnie Beacom, Deb Shoesmith, Allen Wells, David Stephens, Errol Morris, Alan Scholten and Darren Bartlett hit the jackpot.

Sunday May 26 – there was only a mixed competition with Joe Magliano taking 1stplace with an impressive +4 and Runner up Rob Harding scoring +3 a great effort in the extremely cold wind. NTPs Mark Franklin, Daniel Halliwell and Daniel also hit the jackpot. Golf Shop the next round of the Vets/Seniors is on the 24th of June members can book online at any time. Darrell Brown and Kel Llewellyn are available for lessons, call the golf shop on 5261 1677. Also look out for Darrell’s clinics these are great value.